Bama Road,
P.M.B 1069, Maiduguri,
Borno State,
Join Us on       
Follow Us via   


           The College of Medicine was established in 1977, with the mandate of training Physicians and other Professionals in support of national policy objectives in the health and related sectors. The University of Maiduguri Teaching Hospital The hospital used by the College for the clinical components of its training is today a Federal Government designated Centre of Excellence in medicine, thanks to the quality of the College staff.
Both the College and the associated Teaching Hospital cater, respectively, to manpower and health needs in Nigeria's expansive north-east, as well as in the adjoining countries of Chad, Niger and Cameroun.
Training of physicians is carried out in two phases: in a pre-clinical phase, across the Departments of Anatomy, Biochemistry and Physiology; and in a clinical phase, across the Departments of Anaesthesia, Chemical Pathology, Community Medicine, Ear, Nose, Throat (ENT), Haematology and Blood Transfusion, Immunology, Medicine, Microbiology, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Ophthalmology, Paediatrics, Pathology, Pharmacology and Radiology. It is again a reflection of the quality of available personnel that many of these Departments are accredited for post-graduate training of doctors who, on passing prescribed national examinations, become consultants.

The College provides qualitative tuition leading to the award of the following degrees:

  • Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MB, BS)
  • Bachelor of Dentistry
  • Bachelor of Nursing
  • Bachelor of Physiotherapy
  • Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Sciences
  • B.Sc. Anatomy
  • M.Sc. Anatomy
  • B.Sc. Radiography
  • B.Sc. Biochemistry

  • M.Sc. Biochemistry with specialization in:
  • Lipid biochemistry
  • Carbohydrate metabolism
  • Nutritional biochemistry

  • Ph.D. Anatomy