University of Maiduguri Administration

The main administrative structure of the University (including the Visitor, the Chancellor, the Forum, the Council, the Senate, the Congregation, the Convocation and its Principal Officers) is as specified by the University of Maiduguri Act No. 48 Vol. 66 of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The University Council is the highest policy-making body of the University, which meets at least four times a year. The Council is the governing body of the University and has power, under the University Act, to manage and adjudicate on matters regarding administration and finances of the University except those not provided for by the University Act, appoints the Chancellor and the external member of the Council.

Professor Biodun Adesanya
Pro-Chancellor &
Chairman of Council
Professor Abubakar Mustapha
External Member
Makwashi Jakada Zurmi
External Member
Hon. (Barr.) Obiara Samuel
External Member
Laide Osijonwo
External Member
Professor Ibrahim A. Njodi
Professor Abdullahi H. Godowoli
DVC (Admin.)
Professor Aliyu Shugaba
DVC (Acad.)
Professor Jibrilla Dahiru Amin
Member Representing Senate
Professor Mohammed Mala Daura
Member Representing Senate
Professor Micheal P. Noku
Member Representing Senate
Professor Babatunji A. Omotara
Member Representing Senate
Dr. Yunusa M. Dada
Member Representing Congregation
Professor Yaqub A. Geidam
Member Representing Congregation
Mallam Tijjani Bukar